Interaction tips for sliding carousels

George Thomas recently asked the User Experience Professional Network about best practices for sliding content galleries (he calls them “rotators”). I love these kind of interaction questions, so I thought I’d share my response:

Hi, George! In my experience:

  1. The sweet spot for rotating content is near 3 seconds.
  2. Don’t forget the transition time (fade in, fade out). I’ve found slightly longer transitions work better.
  3. Finally, make sure to properly interpret user interaction near or in the rotating space (clicks and mouseovers). Text and images that move while I’m trying to process them just plain suck.

While we’re on the subject, sliding content galleries or “rotators” are fine provided users can access the full content somewhere else. A link to the full content located below the “rotators” space does nicely.Cheers,
Chris

Leave a Reply

